Purling Hiss | Water On Mars

Purling Hiss | Water On Mars

In case you’ve been reading my reviews, all but one of the bands I have reviewed in 2013 so far have been from Philadelphia. This has been purely coincidence. But, just like the rest of the bands, this band, Purling Hiss is from Philadelphia, PA. I’ve always heard of these guys, but never heard them until I saw them open for Dr. Dog in March of last year. They did not fit the bill whatsoever, but I thought they were fucking great. The crowd, however, did not agree. Everyone seemed to be so confused on why these guys were playing. And that bummed me out that people couldn’t enjoy it. It’s probably because, for some reason, lots of “bros” go to Dr. Dog shows now. I’m not sure why. But the last 2 that I went to was full of frat guys who were just there to get drunk. Anyway, Purling Hiss is usually great. Their album Water On Mars is not so great. I cannot stand the “chorus” of Lolita. He just strains his voice when he says Lolita. Don’t get me wrong, not all the songs are not that great. I do really like Dead Again and The Harrowing Wind the most. The rest of the album is basically okay or not okay. And the jam on the title track Water On Mars is pretty great. I love the noisy guitars and feedback sounds (that sounds really sarcastic when I read it to myself, but I assure you, I am being sincere)  It’s really weird that I find myself not enjoying this that much because I love the side project Spacin’. I feel bad giving a fellow Philadelphia a “low” score, but I just really didn’t enjoy this album a whole lot. Who knows, maybe it will grow on me the more I listen to it. But for now I’m giving it a –

3/5


There doesn’t seem to be a streaming link anywhere, so if you wanna hear it, find it!

Leave a comment